Busy little bee…

Commodus: “He knew they were busy little bees. And one night he sat down with one of them and he looked at her and he said, “Tell me what you’ve been doing busy little bee or I shall strike down those dearest to you. You shall watch as I bathe in their blood.” And the emperor was heartbroken. The little bee had wounded him more deeply than anyone else could ever have done. And what do you think happened then, Lucius?”
Commodus was such a freak. I didn’t watch Gladiator recently but “busy little bee” always reminds me of it.

I have been a busy little bee. Saturday morning I took Yaris for an oil change bright and early. Palm has this “deal” that if you service your car there you get free tires for life. Now I realize the deal means you have to rotate your tires every 5000 miles with your oil change which ends up being about $40 complete. So after a couple of oil changes you’ve probably paid the price of a tire anyway. I think it’s a ripoff but when it comes to the car I don’t really know what I’m supposed to do.

After the oil change E and I went to IHOP. IHOP used to have a HUGE variety of exotic and awesome pancakes. I haven’t been to one in ages and I was disappointed to see only a few different selections. They seemed heavier on the eggs and sausage meals. We got stuffed french toast though, without the eggs and sausage and it was yummy.

We headed over to Arcadia for some foraging. There wasn’t anything we couldn’t live without but we found a few little treasures. A new shop opened called “Tickled Pink” which had lots of vintage clothing and shabby-chic things. In the back room I was delighted to see that someone, presumably the owner, had embelished a mirror with old, gaudy and sparkly rhinestone pins and costume jewelry. Evidently you can custom order these mirrors. It was charming and a clever use of all that old jewelry that no one ever buys. She had also hung her vintage hankies on a clothesline, handkerchief-hem style with the point facing down. Each one was clipped with a clothespin and it looked really cute. I bought some in another shop for $2-$3 because I can’t resist the colors and patterns.

We ate at the deli and we signed the wall. I’ve been there before but I never bothered to sign it until now.

Yesterday I had groceries, laundry and cleaning to deal with. I made a melt in your mouth blueberry cake from the Bed & Breakfast cookbook I’ve had for years. It’s one of my favorite recipes and I daresay it really does melt in your mouth.

Leave a Reply

