Ugly shoes

Last year,  my sis took me to Lake Placid, NY, for a few days. That’s where we first saw them…the ugly, clunky, plastic shoes called crocs. We began bitching about them and taunting the people who were wearing them, pelting them with eggs and tomatoes. (Well that last bit isn’t really true but it makes it more exciting.)

We took a boat ride and noticed the tourguide boatswain (better word) was wearing  yellow crocs. When he asked if there were any questions, I asked, “What’s with your shoes? Are they comfortable?”

He said they were actually pretty comfortable, but the main reason he wore them was because he worked on a boat  which was frequently wet and slippery. 

I excused him because he had a reason to wear them

and also because he was good looking. 

If you are not on a boat and you are wearing crocs,  you are a loser. I will make an exception for little kids because they can’t even dress themselves and they wear whatever their parents buy for them.

Since I am always 9 months behind everyone else because I live in Florida©, I just found out that there are  internetty people dedicated to hating crocs and hating ugly shoes.

This is the kind of rebellion I can get behind -one which validates my opinions and requires absolutely no effort on my part.  

2 Responses to “Ugly shoes”

  1. colleen Says:

    ALLELUIA! I HATE Crocs. And it seems that every friend or family member who once joined me in making fun of those hideous shoes now OWNS a pair (or their children do). Lemmings!! Thanks for sharing the blogs – it’s nice to know that we aren’t alone.

  2. Brooke Says:

    Hi! I thought you’d like my own funny “UGLY SHOES” group 🙂

    http://groups.myspace.com/MyUglyShoes

    or maybe we might link back and forth?

Leave a Reply

