Quotable

I finished Julie & Julia a few days ago. It was fun to read as I got caught up in her project of making all the recipes in MtAoFC within a year. Julie apparently has a bold digestive tract which matches her personality. The crustacean and marrow-based foods don’t appeal to me at all. Actually they gross me out.  

 Sometimes I think I am more into reading about things than doing them. How timely then, that I found this quote today…Those who love life do not read. Nor do they go to the movies, actually. No matter what might be said, access to the artistic universe is more or less entirely the preserve of those who are a little fed up with the world.”  Michel Houellebecq 

I don’t know anything about Monsier Houellebecq, but we should probably be friends. Especially if he’s French.

 And while on the subject of quotes, there’s a quote from Nick Hornby’s How to be Good, that pretty much sums up my life for the past 12 years, “Divorce means never having a sandwich made for you – not by your ex-husband anyway.” 

There are many days when I wish someone would just offer to get me a cup of coffee. E will make me a cup of tea from time to time and it’s a real treat. When G was in high school one of his friends stayed overnight and fixed me a cup of coffee in the morning. I’ll never forget that. It was such a treat.

If someone were to offer to do the grocery shopping for me, just one week, I’d probably shit myself with happiness.

Leave a Reply

