Random stuff about books, snakes and sadness

It rained all day Tuesday and the air is cooler. 

I have new library books I’m itching to read: What is the What,  Heat and Created in Darkness by Troubled Americans: The Best of McSweeney’s Humor Category.

There was a small black snake in my garage the other night. I don’t know how he got in. I don’t know if he got out. Every time I go in the garage I think about him possibly lying there waiting to jump out at me. Well he wouldn’t really jump but he would give me a good fright even though he was really very small. Like Bilbo Baggins small in the world of snakes.

A little girl waits alone at the corner bus stop every morning. She looks sad. All the other children wait on one side of the street with their dogs, little brothers and sisters and parents. She waits all alone on the opposite side with her arms folded, looking sad. Couldn’t one of those parents befriend her and make her feel included? Maybe they’ve tried, I don’t know. It makes me sad.

The Coalition of Imokalee Farmworkers  is preparing for a massive protest at Burger King headquarters in Miami on November 30. Burger King has refused to work with the CIW on an agreement to ensure fair wages and labor rights for tomato pickers. 

McDonald’s, Taco Bell and Starbucks have yielded to pressure and entered agreements that will improve conditions, wages and profits for farmers and workers. Burger King needs to agree to similiar principles.

Leave a Reply

