Desmond & Penny

 

DESMOND: Penny?

PENNY: Desmond?

DESMOND: Penny…Penny, answer. Answer, Penny.

PENNY: Des, where are you?

DESMOND: I’m…I’m on a boat. Um…I’ve been on an island, and— Oh, my God, Penny. Is that really you?

PENNY: Yeah! Yes, it’s me!

DESMOND: You believe me? You still care about me?

PENNY: Des, I’ve been looking for you for the past three years. I know about the island. I’ve been researching—(static)—and then when I spoke to your friend Charlie, that’s when I knew you were still alive. That’s when I knew I wasn’t crazy. Des, are you still there!?

DESMOND: Yes, yes, I’m here! I’m still here, can you hear me?

PENNY: Yeah, yeah, that’s better.

*DESMOND: I love you, Penny. I’ve always loved you. I’m so sorry. I love you!

PENNY: I love you too.

DESMOND: I don’t know where I am, but–

PENNY: I’ll find you, Des–

DESMOND: –I promise–

PENNY: –no matter what–

DESMOND: –I’ll come back to you–

PENNY: –I won’t give up–

BOTH: I promise. I love you.

[Static cuts them off.]

This is quite possibly the most romantic, most perfect bit of dialogue ever written for television. It makes me cry every time I watch it.  Right where I have the *, I start sobbing. 

Sometimes it feels really good to cry about something other than your own life – and it feels good to cry about something romantic and moving instead of something miserable. That Scottish accent makes me melt. The whole scene is very satisfying. In fact, it’s so satisfying that I’m not ashamed to admit I watched this excerpt at least 15 times on Saturday. I plan to watch it tonight too.  It’s not much of a plan I know, but so far that’s the plan.

Thank you Carlton Cuse and Damon Lindelof. (And thank you to someone named Sylvia for the image I found on a Lost Forum)

5 Responses to “Desmond & Penny”

  1. Mahmood Says:

    I cried too.
    I do agree with you, This is the most romantic, most perfect bit of dialogue ever written…and That Scottish accent makes me melt too.

    I plan to watch it tonight too.

    by the way, I googled “I Love You Penny” and found your weblog. Thank you

    See Ya In Anotha Life, Brotha

  2. mcmisura Says:

    Brotha! Man, I love when he says that. He’s a great actor – very intense.

  3. Angeleen Says:

    Hey !
    (i’m french so my anglish is not really good.. x)
    Just, that’s so beautiful, Penny and Des.. I love Lost, and as you said ‘This is quite possibly the most romantic, most perfect bit of dialogue ever written for television. It makes me cry every time I watch it.’
    Like me . Haaa They’re so beautiful.. And now, (SPOIL 0503 x) with their son, charlie *o* !
    well well, I know that I speak .. bad xD.
    But thanks to be in love with P&D like me 😀
    See you in another life, Brother * =).

  4. steve04074 Says:

    AGREED. I’m a 44 year old man. Can’t get this episode– this true love– out of my head.

    Cry again and again when I see it.

    Thank you for the lovely webpage.

  5. click here Says:

    Hello, I just hopped over to your webpage via StumbleUpon. Not somthing I might usually browse, but I appreciated your thoughts none the less. Thank you for creating some thing worthy of browsing.

Leave a Reply

