there will be bluebirds

I wake in the middle of the night. And I think of bluebirds and the ultimate delight of seeing a bluebird. I remember this from my childhood. It’s no wonder bluebirds have symbolized happiness for thousands of years, and why Native Americans considered them sacred.

This is what I want, and I don’t think it’s too much to ask. I even wrote it down a few weeks ago. “There will be bluebirds.”

And that’s what yesterday was. Yesterday was a bluebird. A connection with a very old friend which left me happy.  It left me with bluebirds.

Most days are sparrows and that’s fine. Some days are starlings – not so good. I accept that not every day can be a bluebird.

But every now and then I get my bluebird and it’s precious.

Leave a Reply

