The time I fell in love

After a long, hot, tedious summer we met. I was  tentative at first. I’ve been fooled before and  I have some trust issues.  Somehow this felt right. We made plans to have lunch that day. And every day after that we were together at the park for lunch, watching the ducks, or sitting together on a bench in the sun. While I read stories about love, he caressed the back of my neck with kisses as soft as a whisper.

We never had enough time together during the week. Cooped up in an office every day, I began to live for the time we spent together – the lunches, the rides to and from work and the few hours at the end of the day.

The weekends were ours. I woke  early and drank my coffee outside on the patio with him. We took walks and mowed the lawn. We planted seeds and watched the birds and counted the butterflies.

I know it can’t be this way forever. He’ll change. And he’ll have moods. There may be clouds and storms.

I  opened the door, and there he was offering himself to me, to love.

October.

2 Responses to “The time I fell in love”

  1. Jlaben Says:

    I hope it works out for you but I have a feeling that October might be gay.

  2. mcmisura Says:

    he is thin and neat…

Leave a Reply

